76: My Son’s Exams

diploma
I did my exams a long time ago. I remember I was getting more nervous as the exams were getting closer, but on the exams themselves I wasn’t nervous at all. I guess my body has a good functioning system on nervousness, turning it up and down when it is most needed. The last few weeks my son did his exams, My First exams as a father. This time I was really nervous, maybe even more nervous than him. He says he did them quite well, so I am confident now. We still have to wait 1 or 2 weeks for the results. Exiting times! To be honest I think he made it and will graduate without a resit. Like every parent I hope he will do better than me in life, and will graduate with better grades than me. But I would be most happy if he just tries as hard as he can to be the best he can be. As long as he is happy about his performances and choices.
You hear stories about parents pushing their children to be better than they can, or even holding them back so they won’t be better than themselves. Both type of parents should stop thinking about themselves and start putting the interest of the child above their own.
I hope they do.

Source picture: http://www.the-iss.com/2009/07/iss_mailbag_instant_diplomas.php

Leave a Reply

